So THAT’S What Photos Are Supposed To Look Like…
March 2, 2009, 1:22 am
Filed under: Flickr, Nikon D60, Photography

dsc_0036

My first car was a Chevy Prizm. I was 18 and only working part time, so really, that was as far as my bank account would take me. It was a decent enough vehicle that I wasn’t embarrassed driving it around, but I also wasn’t about to go coasting down A1A, picking up women in it . I loved that car like it were my son. My American-made son who was always on the verge of breaking down, but somehow always managed to live another day.

Then, just a few months ago, I bought a new car… an Accord. Compared to my Prizm, this thing feels like a tank. There’s enough room in the back for someone to sit down and not wedge their knees into the driver’s spine, which is nice. It has automatic windows and locks; something I wasn’t fortunate enough to have on my previous car. Have you ever tried reaching across the inside of a car to crank the passenger window back up, doing 90 mph on the highway, because it just started to rain? I don’t know how CarMax ever got the skid marks off the driver’s seat.

My favorite thing about having a new car, though, is that the steering wheel doesn’t shake when the cars exceeds 50 mph. Truth be told, I sort of miss clutching the steering wheel with both hands, out of fear that if I let go, the entire car will shake itself to pieces. However, there is something to be said about a smooth ride on a long trip to Orlando.

Now, for the longest time, I was happy with my old, crappy Chevy. It got me from point A to point B, and while it wasn’t flashy, it got the job done. But, it wasn’t until a bought a far superior product that I realized just what I was missing, and that this process only moves one direction. From here on out, I can only buy better. No regression.

What am I getting at?

My old point and shoot camera was awesome. It was a lot quicker than most of my friends cameras and the screen on the back was huge. I honestly didn’t think it could get any better than that… until I bought my new toy. There’s no turning back now.

As of right now, I’m an amateur. Unless there’s another word for someone who sucks at something because he/she just started. In which case, I’m that. This is the first time I’ve ever tried semi-interesting photography and I felt like you all should come along for the ride. I’ll be posting shots here every so often, but I’ll keep the majority of my photos over on Flickr. Feel free to check em out and leave some constructive criticism.

Or just make fun of me. Totally your choice.

THE FLICKR PAGE

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

