Maturity? When Did This Happen?
May 26, 2009, 8:00 am
Filed under: Growing Up, Moving

growing

Do you remember growing up?

We spend years toiling through school, work and relationships, and at some point, while our time is occupied with all that other nonsense, we grow up. We just never really notice it until after the fact, when we’re sitting around with our friends, drinking a beer with actual flavor out of something that isn’t made of aluminum.

It still seems like yesterday that I was living at home, working a part-time job and slacking off more than I probably should have. I remember a time when my bank statement read $281.12 and the only problem I saw with that, was how I was going to be able to afford a keg for the next party. My mom still cooked all of my meals, washed my clothes and handled most of my finances. I was taking classes at a community college, but not actually attending said classes. I was the type of kid I would totally look down upon today.

Sometimes I think about those days and wonder when it all changed. I still haven’t figured that one out.

Right now, I’m sitting in an empty apartment. All of my belongings are packed away in boxes of various sizes, forming an organized mess in my living room. By Saturday, it’ll all be loaded onto a UHaul and schlepped 25 miles southwest to my new apartment. The apartment I’ll be sharing with my girlfriend. The apartment I’ll be setting up by myself. The apartment that shows the most obvious signs that I’ve grown up.

The girlfriend is in grad school right now, and doesn’t have much time for anything other than books and papers. What does that mean for me? It means I’ll be getting to the new apartment first and making sure everything is set up (internet, cable, etc., etc.) before she gets there, in order to make her transition as simple as possible. Can’t have a grad school student trying to work without internet. I’ve also put in for a schedule change at work, so that I can be home early enough to cook and clean and do whatever other household chore needs to be done, because she won’t have time to do any of it herself.

This isn’t like me at all. I used to be a selfish person who valued his personal time more than anything in the world. Someone who was perfectly content letting other people help him get by. Now, I’m willingly–and excitedly–accepting the responsibility that comes with adulthood. It’s a little scary, to tell you the truth.

Clearly, I’ve grown up. I just don’t know when it happened.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

There is a lot I don’t have time for, but there is one thing I always have time for that you didn’t mention…you. I will have time for books, papers and you. B/c you are the love of my life and absolutely incredible.

Loved this one & sorry but I couldn’t help the sappy public message… I love you.

Comment by Female Smoot




Leave a Reply

